Potential Overhead of Mostly Empty Columns

I am fairly new to database design and the normalization process, so please forgive me if my question is somewhat trivial. I am keen to adhere to the 'standards of normalization', but I also want to make sure that I do not sacrifice database performance in the process.

My question concerns the potential overhead of having one or more mostly empty columns in a table. Is that okay? Or should these columns be separated out into a different table? Let me illustrate with an example.

Let's say I am creating a 'contacts' table with the following fields:

contact_id
    first_name
    middle_names
    last_name
    address_1
    address_2
    city
    state
    zip
    etc.

Now, let us also assume that I will be populating my database with records from another database application. I know that only about 2% of these records have entries for the 'middle_names' field. I also know that the majority of people filling in a Web form to insert records into this 'contacts' table will leave the 'middle_names' field blank. This suggests that I will have a column in the table that will mostly consist of empty values.

In an ideal world, I would like every column in every row in my table to have a value, so I am not saving empty space. But obviously this cannot happen in the real world. So, should I be making another 'middle_names' table, like so?

middle_name_id
    contact_id_fk
    middle_name

I could use a join in my queries whenever I needed to return the middle name of a specific contact. Is this the 'structurally right' thing to do? Or is it okay to have a few columns in my table that are mostly empty? If it is, should my values be empty strings or NULLs? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using NULL entries in columns?