Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hide Records

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17

    Unanswered: Hide Records

    I have a service related database. I have place a text box on a form called "status". The data in the status text box is either "open" or "complete". When the status shows complete, I would like to hide that record. I would also like to place a command button that reverses the procedure and displays all hidden records.
    Any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    45
    Is there a field in your table that says 'open' or 'complete'? If so, just set the criteria in your query to exclude any records where that field name is "complete". Is this what you need?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17

    Hide records

    I realize that I could create a query to accomplish this, however I just want to accomplish this only on a form.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by jor47
    I realize that I could create a query to accomplish this, however I just want to accomplish this only on a form.
    Are you saying that you have a TextBox where you have to manually Input the words "COMPLETE" or "OPEN" ??? Why not have a ComboBox or a CheckBox or something to that effect? That would make it easy.
    Are you also saying that you want to make that record GoAway as soon as you type either word in it?
    As suggested a Query would be a good place to do that along with a CheckBox or something, then you can make the form ReQuery when you check that box and also have the query to not show it again until you either Remove the check or Code it with a CommandButton. If you post a sample I would be glad to try to help you out. It is something simple.

    Bud

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,487
    The above replies are good advice....create a Yes/No field into your table and name it Completed. And then place something similar to the line below into the RecordSource property of your form:


    Code:
    SELECT * FROM myTableName WHERE myTableName.Completed = 0
    or something like that (it's late... )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    Thanks everyone.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by jor47
    Thanks everyone.
    you're more than welcome. hope everything works out swell. Hiya CyberLynx

    Bud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •