Talking Unanswered: Easy Db2 question

Hi all, I'm new to Db2, so this problem is probably really trivial.
    Anyways, I just created a new instance using the db2icrt command, and then I created a new admin user using the following commands.

db2admin stop
    db2admin drop
    db2admin create /user:NEWUSR
    db2admin setid NEWUSR
    db2admin start

But, now, when i try to execute commands, such as

create db SAMPLEDB

I get the message

SQL1092N "NEWUSR" does not have the authority to perform the requested command.

Can someone please help me?????

Thanks!!!

Talking

Try this:

GRANT CONTROL ON TABLE <SCHEMA>.<TBL> TO USER <USR>;

GRANT SELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,ALTER,INDEX,REFERENCES ON TABLE <SCHEMA>.<TBL> TO USER <USR> WITH GRANT OPTION;

NB: Please do include your DB2 Version and the OS you are on every time you post.

I am using DB2 v8.1 on WIN2000

In order to execute those commands, don't I need to have a database first? And I can't create a database since my user doesn't have the authority!

Do I need to add the user to some kind of admin group or something??

Wink

Yes, you need to have SYSADM or DBADM authority to grant control.

You can restrict the user to do any of the below operations:
    SELECT/INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE/ALTER/INDEX/REFERENCES

The user need not be added to Admin group.

I am just curious how you were able to

"db2admin stop
    db2admin drop
    db2admin create /user:NEWUSR
    db2admin setid NEWUSR
    db2admin start"

because only a SYSADM or DBADM authority user can do the above.

Exclamation

I missed out one more thing. The GRANT command in my previous post is at the table level! Sorry.

At the Database level, this should work

GRANT
    DBADM,CREATETAB,BINDADD,CONNECT,CREATE_NOT_FENCED_ ROUTINE,IMPLICIT_SCHEMA,LOAD,CREATE_EXTERNAL_ROUTI NE,QUIESCE_CONNECT
    ON DATABASE TO USER <USR>;

You can add the user to perform any of these operations