Unanswered: Reorg and Prefetch in Oracle

Hi experts,

I am a DB2 DBA and new to Oracle. Have 2 questions:

1. Does Oracle 9i has reorg & reorgchk like in db2? Basicly, a command to check if the tables & indexes need to be reorgonized?

2. Db2 has prefetching which basicly fetches the rows to the buffer cache before they are needed to reduce I/O later? Does Oracle has a similar concept?

Thanks!

1. this is not applicable to Oracle, if I understand your question. Tables in Oracle don't need to be reorged like they do in DB2.
    2. yes, see the init.ora parameter db_file_multiblock_read_count. You set this to the number of blocks Oracle should read per I/O. Remember that the amount it fetches is really this number times the db_block_size.
    MarkRem
    Author, Oracle Database 10g: From Nuts to Soup
    http://www.remidata.com/book_nuts2soup.htm

Thanks Mark.

But regarding 1, how come it's not needed? Say the table or index has become very fragmented, don't DBAs need to reorg the table? If so, how? Using SQL script to check?

It is possible to have lots of chains and migrated rows. Look at script utlchain.sql for a package to monitor chained rows. Also look at the "analyze table validate structure" commands. If you database block size is set correctly, and especially if you are using Oracle's locally managed tablespaces, you won't have any worries. It is very rare to need to reorg a table in Oracle8i and higher. Rows chain and migrate naturally, and only occurs to extremes if the database was not designed correctly.

That said, check out the move table commands. You can move the table to its current location, causing it to be reorged without actually moving it. Neat, but is it really necessary? Tables are heap organized by default, and you should access data via indexes so you don't care where in the heap a rows sits.