Unanswered: Access 1997 Query

I've created a database in Access 1997. I've made a form for entering data. Now I need to make a query that will be displayed as a report that will let people easily search ANY of my fields and display ALL of the information for a particular record when the query is run. I'm new to Access so programming language means nothing to me. I've made queries for each field that prompt the user to enter a value of that field; Ex. "Author" query says "Author?" when it is first run. I did this by setting the "Author" criteria=[Author?]. I can search all I want but I have 13 fields and 13 queries. How can I make one query that can search any of the 13 fields and then display all of the record information when it is run? I need to make this as easy as possible, other people with no Access experience will be using it. Thankyou for any help you can give me.

If you want to be able to rapidly jump all over the place with different query results I would suggest that you direct your learning to the following:

1) Having query criteria being based on an entry on a form. When you do this the entry in the criterial will look like

[Forms]![YourFormName]![TextBoxName] In the exampe you mentioned you would enter the authors name into the textbox. This clould also be done from a combo box with a drop down list of authors and when some clicked on an author in the list then a macro or code could be run which would then open the query.

2) Leaning how to change the record source of a for. This is very easy to do with a macro action called Setvalue.

3) Display your query in a tabular style form and on this form you can place various labels to click on that will change the record source.

Hope that helps you get started.

Mike

3) Display your query in a tabular style form and on this form you can place various labels to click on that will change the record source.

So how do I go about doing the 3rd suggestion?