Unanswered: Oracle on Windows

Hello,

I'm a MS SQL DBA and I understand databases fairly well, but our Oracle DBA just upped and walked out and I am really struggling to get a handle on Oracle. All the books and sites that I have visited seem to be UNIX-centric. All the scripts I've seen are for the UNIX Shell. We're running Oracle 9i and 8i on Windows 2000.

I have the Oracle 9i DBA handbook and I've ordered the Oracle on Windows handbook (from Oracle Press). But if anyone knows of a good Oracle/Windows site (preferable with lots of sample scripts), I would be grateful.

Going bald in PA...

hmscott

I would also recommend getting a tool like TOAD with the DBA module. This will help you identify problem sql aswell as monitoring space usage (not perfect but very useful) as well as giving you a much nicer interface than straight sql.

Alan

Maybe we can help out until you get your books in ... What type of scripts or things are you looking for at this moment ???

Gregg

My biggest need right now is for backups. Apparently we've gone all this time with no backups (shudder).

Our policy is to store 7 days worth of full backups (either on the server on a different disk or on a file share accessible to the server) and to be able to recover the database to a point in time anytime in the last 24 hours. We are a 24x7 shop, so I don't think that offline backups are an option. The database is not over-large (less than 20GB?). I'm not positive of that value because I don't know what all files to include in the count. I know that we need to be in ARCHIVELOG mode (we are not now).

I have looked at some scripts on ORAFAQ, but they don't seem quite kosher to me. In particular, the windows backup script that I saw did not put the tables in a 'backup' state prior to using OCOPY. That didn't seem to square with the DBA Handbook UNIX scripts which put the tables in backup state and then backed them up.