Unanswered: Beyond me... open new form and auto-populate

Dear all,

I'm new to databases, and hope that you can help me.

I'm creating a database for a medical research study, looking at surgical complications. It's the first database I've worked with properly, let alone designed from the ground up. It's also getting quite complicated, so I could do with a bit of help :P

I have 3 tables:
    1. Patient details - contains patient demographics
    2. Primary operation - contains details of the patient's first operation. There may be two instances for each patient (left and right side)
    3. Re-operation - contains details of a subsequent operation (e.g. due to a complication arising from the first operation).
    There may be multiple secondary operations for a given patient, each of which relate specifically to
    one side (left or right). The most operations in my population is 11.

I've created a one-to-many relationship between table 1 and table 2, and a one-to many relationship between table 2 and table 3. I think this is the right way to go about this, but if anyone wants to correct me I'd love to hear suggestions.

My question is this:
    I've created 3 basic forms to correspond to the tables, but at the moment there is no logical progression from one form to the next. Since each patient (record) will require at least one of all 3 tables, I'd like to set it up so that when the user finishes entering the data into form1 (patient details table), he/she can press a button which will close that form and open the next one (form2 - primary procedure) for that patient. In addition, it would be beneficial to pre-populate the newly opened form with some of the data already entered in the previous form e.g. the patient's medical record number (MRN) and/or name.