Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lock_timeout

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294

    Lightbulb Unanswered: Lock_timeout

    Hello there,

    Is there any way to set a default lock time out for the server with out using the sentence SET LOCK_TIMEOUT 20 ???

    Could you explain me step by step ?

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    19

    locks time out

    Please Check sp_configure locks execute this first check the locks space allocated, Increase the locks by executing sp_configure locks 100000 then execute the Store Procedure you will not get the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    19

    locks timeout

    Please try with this procedure
    Execute sp_configure locks
    check the locks allocated
    now increase the locks by exec
    Execute sp_configure locks 100000
    then execute your request you will not get the error
    Last edited by nlakka; 06-29-04 at 09:06.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294
    Thanks !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294
    I want to eliminate automatically every lock after 10 seconds and I did this:

    USE master
    go
    EXEC sp_configure 'locks', 10000
    go
    RECONFIGURE WITH OVERRIDE
    go

    Is this correct ? Do I have to restart sql server ?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    If you want to make the locks "go away", why not just ignore them and deal with the consequences later? You can set the transaction isolation level down, and the server will just ignore the locks held by other processes.

    This is very dangerous, but it is less dangerous than simply trying to break the existing locks since it only puts your process at risk instead of the whole server.

    -PatP

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by jortiz
    I want to eliminate automatically every lock after 10 seconds and I did this:

    USE master
    go
    EXEC sp_configure 'locks', 10000
    go
    RECONFIGURE WITH OVERRIDE
    go

    Is this correct ? Do I have to restart sql server ?

    Thanks
    Yes, Exactly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •