Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    outside the rim
    Posts
    1,011

    Unanswered: Get rid of the pesky "Printer not found, would like to switch" message

    Hello,

    Even when a report is set to "Default Printer", after I have edited it and then a user on a different network opens it, a message pops up reading "Can not find PrinterXYZ, would you like to use the default Printer123 instead?"

    Now I would think that if a report is set to "Default Printer" that it should AUTOMATICALLY switch to the default printer of whatever machine opens it - I just don't know where the setting is to make this happen.

    Typically, a one time click of OK and it goes away until next time, but in my case, a "FrontGate" I developed verifies the user identity and then transfers the FE to the user's temp directory, so they get the message EVERY TIME they open the program.

    Please help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    banging on a big drum...

    since i hide the A window in all my apps, i can't use report-preview (it collapses the hidden A window situation).

    soooooo, i had to find a way to "preview reports": as it turns out, this was 200% good and saved a humungous amount of code - report to SNP

    not only does reporting to SNP preserve the delicate hidden-mother situation, but the SNP viewer includes native select printer and e-mail to functions (and zoom and buckets-full of other good stuff).

    ?? consider it ?

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    outside the rim
    Posts
    1,011
    izzy,

    you lost me, but what I heard while lost intrigued me.

    What is SNP? Most stuff on SNP on the web has to do with the genome project.

    "A Window" - do you mean Application window? If so, why can't you preview reports, I do?

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    consider:

    Dim snapName As String
    snapName = "C:\CPS-DB\REPORTS\yourChoice.snp"
    DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "yourReport", "Snapshot Format", snapName
    snapName = "c:\program files\snapshot viewer\snapview.exe " & snapName
    Call Shell(snapName, vbNormalFocus)

    this stuffs your report into SNP and "previews" it (if snapview.exe is where it should be)

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    ....and by the way: anyone can view SNP using

    A-users normally have this installed by default

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    ...and the A window thing:

    i want my apps to look like "apps" not crappy forms sitting in mother-Gates' window: so i kill the access window.

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    343
    how do you hide thew access window.? Can you give some hints? or code ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    i do not use the "standard" way (which you can find here).

    my way is more complicated but i prefer the results: demo attached.
    ...be prepared for some strange experiences.

    DON'T use print-preview (it unhides the access window for both methods of hiding), use the SNP method discussed above

    note that you must hold down SHIFT when starting the MDB if you want to be able to break in and edit anything or see how it all works.

    experiment & enjoy.

    izy

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    i should mention that this simple demo is not checking which references are set.

    the demo requires Office 9.0 Object Library

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    343
    thanks..will take a look at it. I was using api calls to hide or unhide the window. Lets see how your code is working.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •