Unanswered: simple record search

hello, im a total access newbie and have no clue what im doing, however, im trying to set up a simple record search. this is what i would like to do. bring up a search form, enter a name into a text box, click search, have that bring up all the results in a listbox, and then i would be able to double click on any one of the results in the list box to bring up the record.

i thought i found something that could help me (found here) however, it uses listboxes for selection and i just simply cant follow the code

i guess my question is, is there anyway to do this in access without having to look at any code?

thanks.

ok, new question

how can i chage this line
    SELECT [Cendant Servers].ID, [Cendant Servers].SERVER_NAME FROM [Cendant Servers];

to search using whatever i have inputted into the text box rather than display everything from the table

SELECT [Cendant Servers].ID, [Cendant Servers].SERVER_NAME FROM [Cendant Servers] WHERE [Cendant Servers].[SERVER_NAME] = [Forms]![Name of your Form]![Name of your textbox];

cool, thansk for the reply. my question now is, do i have to set any options for the text box? or is the listbox supposed to update whenever something is typed into the text box??

Are you using that SQL on a query? If so you have to use this VBA coding:

Me.Nameoflistbox.RowSource = "NameofQuery"

thank you very much for your help, im now able to get the results in the list box . now, the only thing left is how do i get the record to pop up when i double click the entry in the list box?

what im trying to do right now is run a macro so when you double click on an entry, it does a gotorecord. however, i can figure out what to put in for the offset mask for it to go to the right record. i dont even know if its possible to do it this way
    Last edited by altezza2k2; 06-28-04 at 15:33.

No...it's something to do with the OpenArgs function in the DoCmd.OpenForm function.