Question Unanswered: How to do Oracle DB duplication?

Hi all friends,

I'm new to Oracle.
    My leader asked me to find way to duplicate oracle database between two different oracle sites.
    It need to be online and differential backup.
    The only way i know is to use the "exp","imp" utils to do it but it's not effective.

Does anyone have such experience ?
    Thanks a lot!

Regards,
    Stanley

Hi,
    there are several ways to do such duplications:
    * exp/imp (as you mentioned)
    * database links with self-written data integrity triggers
    * snapshots
    * multi master replication
    * standby databases
    * clusters
    (and I'm sure there are several more)

each if them has their own advantages and disadvantages. A deep analysis of your needs and the technical possiblities is necessary.
    Nevertheless, a snapshot might be helpful.
    ^/\x

Two priority questions:
    1. Must your two databases be open for read/write operations at the same time?
    2. Must the data in your two databases be syncrhonized?

If the answer to both questions is "yes" then consider Oracle Advanced Replication in Oracle9i, or Streams in 10g. You could also use EMC's SRDF, if you have EMC storage arrays. You could also use Quest's SharePlex or DataMirror's iReflect.

If the answer to the first question is "no" but the answer to the second question is "yes", the consider Oracle Standby Database with Data Guard. Alternatively, Quest's SharePlex or DataMirror's iReflect could also be used here.

If the answer to both questions is "no" then consider imp/exp. Atlernatively, many of the backup/recovery software programs like Oracle RMAN give you the ability to duplicate a database at a remote location.
    MarkRem
    Author, Oracle Database 10g: From Nuts to Soup
    http://www.remidata.com/book_nuts2soup.htm

Different approaches are available depending on you requirements:

- Data Guard

- RMAN db duplication - Example

- Snapshot replication for the incremental changes