Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322

    Unanswered: Registration Fails

    For years I've had a server registration using sql server auth set up...now it's failing...can't be found not suthed BS...

    I can still see mu other boxes in sql mode, and otyhers in mixed, and I can still see my remote boxes in Ireland and Pennysylvania...we're in NJ..

    The person next to me does the same thing, had to reboot, but was fine.

    I get ice in the winter...

    bizzare-o world.

    Any ideas?

    Never seen anything like it...

    I do know that our tech group has been doing some pushes lately...but I checked my settings and they seem fine..but why would I be able to see everything else but this one instance?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    135
    ...are you registering by IP or DNS name? I know that when i've had problems between here and the great state of Maine I had to reregister using the servers IP.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    492
    can you ping its ip? what does a trace do?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    DNS and I can ping it.....
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    135
    are you able to ping it both by IP and DNS? (if you can't by DNS ya might try and register it by it's IP)...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Just tried..I can ping by both...I'm gonna go over and bother the other guy who's connecting to see what's different...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    OK, it was suggested that I try an osql connection from dos...

    fact is I already tried that...

    BUT it is a great point...for some reason the error message are more helpful..it's like QA interferes with the message...

    Then I said, what about bcp...and I got a message I never saw before

    C:\>bcp northwind.dbo.orders out orders.txt -SNJROS1D15\NJROS1D151DEV -Usa -Ppwd

    CTLIB Message: - L6/O8/S5/N3/5/0:ct_connect(): directory service layer: internal directory control layer error: Requested server name not found.

    Establishing connection failed.

    C:\>
    I'm going to try bcp from another box from xp_cmdshell
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Have you installed a Sybase client recently?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    I have a Sybase client AND server running and have no prob.

    Brett, did your nw guys push something on the client as well? Try odbcping (of course it'll fail, but try with different security switches) Also, did you happen to do anything in terms of aliasing experimentation? Or maybe in Server Network Configuration on the offending server (sounds like it's offending your intelligence, doesn't it?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    The few times I have seen BCP fail with a ct_connect error, it was a Sybase bcp attempting to talk to a MS SQL Server. The problem I always have is that Sybase adds itself to the beginning of the PATH environment variable, so you tend to get it first. I have no doubt you can force the two to get along. Probably only take a couple rolls of duct tape. Here is the error I get for trying to connect to no server:

    bcp pubs..authors out auth.txt /Sgarbage /T

    SQLState = 08001, NativeError = 17
    Error = [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][DBNETLIB]SQL Server does not exist or access denied.
    SQLState = 01000, NativeError = 53
    Warning = [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][DBNETLIB]ConnectionOpen (Connect()).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Another possiblity would be hav eyou gotten a beta version of Windows XP SP2? Rumour has it that this will come with a built-in firewall that will block port 1433 by default.

    http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...inxpsp2faq.asp

    I think we will all be having to play around with this, before our desktop groups get the idea into their heads that they need to deploy this service pack overnight.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Yup, you're right, I forgot about common utility names. And CTLIB is very suspicious in the content of your error...aka CTlib API, which is Sybase's new web.sql API. Are you screwing with Sybase, Brett???
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Yup installed sysbase months agao...

    I like the combiniation of errors thing...yes I think our server ops pushed something last week...

    Got the Alias thing to work with the ip address...

    What bugs me is that my other NJ is ok..probably on an isolated domain, as well as PA and Ireland...but that doesn't explain PROD on the same network....
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by rdjabarov
    Are you screwing with Sybase, Brett???
    Hey, I bought her a drink....

    sybase, oracle, db2, sql server.....all the same...just a different dress....

    Was looking at mySQL...now that's a wolfer...kinda like acess...and now that I say that is access an rdbms? It's definetley not client server....how about foxpro DBaseIII...man they're just to many of them...

    which platform would you like to choose?

    It's this gdamn network crap I hate....

    EDIT: Does Mac have an RDBMS?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    I have had intermittent problems with Enterprise Mangler where the connection would timeout under TCP/IP, but would be fine under Named Pipes. I never found a rhyme or reason to it. See what happens when you change your default net library in the Client Network Utility. Pretty much reduced to groping at, er....grasping at straws here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •