Unanswered: Statistics Chart

I have data that's related to various dates. I need to have a bar chart for this data by various date ranges. In otherwords, when I select a beginning and an ending date, the chart should update and display a vertical bar chart for the quantities related to dates within that range. Does anyone have a sample database that can get me started? I've worked with date ranges for other databases; however, I've never used a chart before. I hope someone has an example database for this type of chart.

Thanks
    PC

Wrong Tool

Look at Excel this will make you life a lot easier.

Statistics Chart

I have an attendence database with a years worth of data; so using excel would not be convient either. I need an ongoing statistics evaluation. That's why I plan to use a date range in making the chart. Thank for your advice.

Still Use Excel

You can link up Excel to the information in the Access DB. Under Data-Get External Data-New Database Query you can link an Excel worksheet to a table or query from an external Datasource. Access MDB, Oracle, MySQL etc. Excel's tools for graphical reprentation of the data is significantly better than those of access.

Statistics Chart

In examining the Chart Wizard for Excel, it asks for a data range. It doesn't say anything about the possibility of linking. Is the chart and activex? I'm not very familiar with excel charts linking to external data sources, like Access. Is there a sample that I can examine? If excel's chart is an activex, can it be used with an Access form?

Thanks,
    PC
    Last edited by PC User; 07-06-04 at 11:13.

Linking Excel to MS Access

Here is some information to get you started. Once you get the data in you should be able to build your chart from there. This simple example should clarify things for you.

****NOTE******