Unanswered: AddNew recordset in DAO - Help!

Hi guys and gals,

I am pretty new to VB, and am trying to create a search that retrieves the PersonnelID field from various tables and adds them to a Search table.

I can't get new records added to the search table using the VB on a button below:
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    'Search based on the strings we have built
    Set db = CurrentDb
    Set rcdFinal = db.OpenRecordset("SELECT Search.ID FROM Search", dbOpenDynaset)

'Do any people Personnel records satisfy the WHERE clauses?
    Set rcdPer = db.OpenRecordset("SELECT DISTINCTROW Personnel.PersonnelID, Personnel.GivenNames FROM Personnel WHERE " & strFilterPers, dbOpenDynaset)
    rcdPer.MoveFirst
    Do While Not rcdPer.EOF
    rcdFinal.AddNew
    rcdFinal!ID = rcdPer!PersonnelID
    rcdPer.MoveNext
    Loop
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    I have also attached the full VB script for those who are interested.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Richard.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Trumpet; 07-03-04 at 23:29. Reason: forgot to attach attachment

At a quick glance, you're missing the Update method.

Do While Not rcdPer.EOF
    rcdFinal.AddNew
    rcdFinal!ID = rcdPer!PersonnelID
    rcdFinal.Update
    rcdPer.MoveNext
    Loop

Also, consider using rcdFinal("ID") instead of rcdFinal!ID

As you get better with coding, you'll find it more useful. The value in the () can either be a string that explicitly names the field, or an integer, which reference the field by it's index (field indexes in DAO recordsets start at 0).

So, if you have 15 fields, you can make a loop and use a variable instead of having to type out each field name.

Hae fun

tcace,