Unanswered: Informix DBImport Help!

In my environment I have two databases each in their own environment. I am trying load (a) to (b) and am having problems doing this. First off, the environments are not totally identical, the database chunks are not the same (b) has fewer chunks but is should still have enought space to hold database (a). I ran a dbexport on (a) and when I run a dbimport on (b) I get the following message.....

*** create database
    330 - Cannot create or rename database.

100 - ISAM error: duplicate value for a record with unique key.

The environment where I am going still has the old database online (in onmonitor) is it possible to move one database to another environment? And if it is, why is this error coming up?

I realize I have not given much information but I will be the first to admit I am a UNIX admin, not an informix admin.

Any help would be apprcieated...

K-

Hi kdanjou,

You cannot dbimport a database called "production" into a database called "test" if "test" already exists.

dbimport is totally creating a new database, not insert data from another database into the existing database.

You must drop the "test" database first and then you will be able to dbimport into "test".

The SQL script generated by dbexport has all the information necessary to create a new database using dbimport.

Good luck

Mike

Dropping database

how do I go about dropping the database without losing the chunks of raw space that were created? Is that possible?

Thanks,

K-

Hi kdanjou,

Let's say you have an IDS instance called "work_one".

work_one is made up of some dbspaces, some critical (rootdbs, physdbs, logdbs, and tempdbs) and some user defined (dbs1, dbs2, dbs3, etc ....).

All these dbspaces are created using "chunks" of raw space and these chunks are created from logical volumes.

The dbspace(s) contain the database tables and indexes.