Thread: Too Many Joins?

Unanswered: Too Many Joins?

Microsoft SQL Server 2000:

I am not a SQL programmer, but I am trying to use data collected in our Job Costing system to feed data to a crystal report that summarizes the current department name and the last date each job was scanned into a department.
    I used aliases of the Process table to extract the max date for each department.

This statement works fine, but sometimes it hangs and locks my process table. I am not sure what event causes the lock, but I think it has to do with the users aborting the report during the SQL extract or multiple users trying to report at the same time (8am when they first arrive at work).

I showed this to a consultant and he showed me that the MAX statement in the 3rd to last join was eating most of the execution time. Also he told me I am using too many joins and should look into Table Views. The statement completes in 15 to 45 seconds, depending on the workload.

What can I do to improve the performance of this code and to avoid the locks?

SELECT
    OH.JobNumber,
    OH.PlantID,
    OH.CreateOpr,
    OC.ComponentNumber,
    PJN.ProductionCode as ProductionMax,
    P2.ProcessCode as MaxCC,
    PS.Description AS MaxCCDesc,
    PJ1.ProductionCode,
    P.ProcessCode as ProdCC,
    P51.CreateDatim AS SchCCDate,
    P53.CreateDatim AS TypCCDate,
    P55.CreateDatim AS OPrCCDate,
    P57.CreateDatim AS HPrCCDate,
    P59.CreateDatim AS CRmCCDate,
    P61.CreateDatim AS CCeCCDate,
    P63.CreateDatim AS PRmCCDate,
    P65.CreateDatim AS BinCCDate,
    P67.CreateDatim AS JbOCCDate,
    P69.CreateDatim AS OnDCCDate,
    P71.CreateDatim AS ShpCCDate,
    PS1.Description AS CCDesc,
    P.CreateDatim AS CCDate,
    OQT.Quantity,
    OH.JobDescription,
    OH.FormNumber,
    OH.JobDescription,
    OH.USERDEFINED1 AS JobType,
    OH.CustAccount,
    OH.CustName,
    (select OrderHeader.DueDate from OrderHeader where OrderHeader.JobNumber = OH.JobNumber and OH.NoDueDate = 0) as DueDate,