Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Write Conflict

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Unanswered: Write Conflict

    I have a database thats got sql as the engine and access 2000 for the client side. and every time I edit a record this "Write Conflict" comes up. I dont know why its doing that but Idont want that happening whent the database goes live and my users start editing records. what do I, apparently its a Replication Conflict
    Last edited by desireemm; 04-15-09 at 17:23.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    ...I just replied to your other post (you don't need to double-post, if the question is not answered, it means that either nobody knows, or someone is still trying to come up with an answer).

    Now I don't think it's a "merge replication"-related issue...Could it be that you're "stepping" on your own toes?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    sorry

    I am sorry I posted this issue twice it wont happen again. I dont know what you mean by stepping on my own toes. There is only one databas in sql server 2000. it has an active table, a termination (which doestn have that problem) theres a total of 4 tables in it. The active table is the only one that has this problem. I was wondering if it was due to the Update trigger, will investigate further

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    He means that you might be blocking yourself...

    if you have a rs open, and edited (or maybe not even), and the you try to perform an update delete, you'll block yourself

    look at sp_who2 in query analyzer when you get that massage....

    damn there goes my mind back in to the gutter...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Kaiser
    look at sp_who2 in query analyzer when you get that massage....
    Hey, at least make sure the kids are not around
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Message

    here what I get after I do sp_who2, I'm also looking this up on booksonline.
    Last edited by desireemm; 04-15-09 at 17:23.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Update Trigger

    I have a feeling its the update trigger, shoot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Problem solved

    thanks guys I know what I did wrong its the update trigger, now I gotta figure out how to avoid that problem and what exactly I did wrong. sorry, but its a live and learn process for me

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    /cry

    I REally LIked that Trigger WAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (Sobbing)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I don't see any blocking.....

    next time just post the output, with the headers, in [ code] [ /code] tags to hold the formatting...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Ok

    Ok Brett sorry, thank you for your help guys

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    update Trigger

    apparently its my update trigger, I just dont understand why?? I did some research on this website http://www.experts-exchange.com/Data..._21015914.html
    Not finding any answers so far but at least I am not the only one with this problem

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Well post the trigger...should be like the one I gave you...right?

    Are your transaction on ACID?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Microsoft Support

    I found some answers on Microsoft support site
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=278696

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    heres the updatetrigger

    Code:
    CREATE TRIGGER [TermUpdateTrigger] ON [dbo].[EmployeeGamingLicense] 
    FOR UPDATE 
    AS
    INSERT INTO TERMINATION(Status,[TM #],LastName, FirstName,[SocialSecurityNumber], DateHired, Title)
    SELECT STATUS,[TM#], LASTNAME, FIRSTNAME,[SSN#], HIREDATE, JOBTITLE
    FROM Inserted
    WHERE STATUS= 'TERMINATED'
    
    DELETE FROM EmployeeGamingLicense 
    WHERE EXISTS (SELECT * FROM inserted  WHERE STATUS = 'TERMINATED' AND [SSN#] = [SSN#])

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •