Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    121

    Unanswered: How to know I have db2 admin client on machine

    I want to know which one I have on my machine if any.
    Admin client,Runtime client ?

    ?Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    In your sqllib/cfg folder. check for *.lvl files

    db2sdk.lvl indicates App dev client

    Don't remember what it is for runtime clients ...

    Hth

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    121

    Would you mind giving me example of the file for admin client ?

    Would you mind giving me example of the file for admin client ?
    as I just see a numeric string.


    Quote Originally Posted by udbdb2
    I want to know which one I have on my machine if any.
    Admin client,Runtime client ?

    ?Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    You need not open the file .. Just check the file name ...

    What are your *lvl filenames
    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    121
    Thanks!!! It helped.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Does anyone know the 'proper' method to identify this ??

    :-)

    Cheers
    sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256
    Well, not really.

    I know that runtime client will take up about 36-40 Mb on the client, whereas the admin client stores considerably more.
    Start menu should offer you 4 options for runtime and some 8-10 for the admin client (with default installations)

    I also suspect that the standard remove software option of windows (at least with W2000 and higher) will list them correctly?
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    How about getting the specific packages or filesets that were installed.
    May be we should try to installed the clients note down the packages.
    and then installed the server.

    regards,

    mujeeb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    On Windows: Start | Settings | Control Panel | Add remove programs

    db2db2, please specify the operating system name & version.

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    278

    Windows.

    Hi.

    My Observations are as under

    1. In the Services Panel of Windows 2000 an ADMIN client can be identifed as DB2 will only create 2 service entries for the same.

    2. The db2licm command does not work on the workstations where the admin client is installed. I don't know whether the same is applicable for runtime clients as well.
    HTH

    Nitin

    Ask the experienced rather than the learned

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    76
    Try db2level and db2licm -l on DB2 CLP.

    Also check
    MYCOMPUTER\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\DB2\DB2 Personal Edition\CurrentVersion
    using "regedit" on run window.
    Last edited by jsp2999; 07-17-04 at 07:32.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    All above tips are little bit not sophisticated
    Is there somekind of command:
    "show db2 installed products"

    Grofaty
    Last edited by grofaty; 07-19-04 at 02:23.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •