Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47

    Unanswered: RMAN report command error ?

    Hi, everybody
    I have an Oracle database 8i on Unixware 7.1.1. This is the first time I use RMAN. I have connected to local database and I have got this error after issue command: report schema

    RMAN> REPORT SCHEMA;

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: report
    RMAN-03026: error recovery releasing channel resources
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: report
    RMAN-06172: not connected to recovery catalog database

    Do I configure anything before using RMAN ? And how I solve this problem ?
    Please help me. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    yuo must connect to target database as sysdba:

    RMAN> connect target sys/yourpass@yourdatabase

    connected to target database: yourdatabase (DBID=3545108493)

    after you connected to target database you can issue command:

    RMAN> report schema;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47
    I have connected to target database before used that command.

    Oracle8i>rman target sys/<syspass>

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.7.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: TEST (DBID=529557214)

    I could shutdown and startup my database.
    First, I thought that maybe I haven't register database. So I issued this command:

    RMAN> register database;

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: register
    RMAN-03026: error recovery releasing channel resources
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: register
    RMAN-06172: not connected to recovery catalog database

    Do I have to execute any script ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    Are you created Recovery Catalog?
    In this case you need connect to recovery catalog too.
    RMAN> connect catalog rman/rman@rcat

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47
    I don't want to create catalog. I just don't understand what happen with my command so I tried it. I want to backup my database without creating catalog. I'm new with RMAN. Please tell me step by step to do that.
    Last edited by fire2fire; 07-20-04 at 05:05.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    If you don’t want to use recovery catalog then you cannot use register database command, because this command register tareget database in the recovery catalog.
    Some RMAN command you cannot use without recovery catalog
    I don’t know what happend. Sorry.
    try :
    RMAN> connect target user/pass@database;
    RMAN> backup database;

    maybe you need to configure channel:
    RMAN> CONFIGURE CHANNEL DEVICE TYPE DISK FORMAT
    'D:\RMANBACKUP\BackupFiles\ora_df%t_s%s_s%p';

    can you execute command :
    RMAN> show all;
    after connect to target database
    Last edited by bato; 07-20-04 at 08:06.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    Since you are not using a recovery catalog, I would also suggest that you configure automatic control file backups:
    rman> configure controlfile autobackup on;

    You can also specify a format and location for this:
    rman> configure controlfile autobackup format for device type disk to 'path:\%F';
    The %F is a mandatory variable for this format. If you try to take it out I believe it gives you an error.

    Come to think of it, I am not sure this feature is available in 8i. If the autobackup feature isn't available, make sure you backup your controlfile regularly as it is your lifeline for restores without a catalog.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47
    To Bato, I also get error when I use command show all:

    Oracle8i>rman target sys/<syspass>

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.7.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: TEST (DBID=529557214)

    RMAN> show all;

    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "identifier": expecting one of: "allocate, alter
    , beginline, catalog, change, connect, create, crosscheck, configure, debug, del
    ete, drop, exit, endinline, host, {, library, list, mount, open, print, register
    , release, replace, report, renormalize, reset, resync, rman, rpct"
    RMAN-01008: the bad identifier was: show
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 1 file: standard input

    To Lestop, I get this error:

    <quote>
    RMAN> configure controlfile autobackup on;

    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "controlfile": expecting one of: "compatible"
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 11 file: standard input
    <quote>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47
    Thank you for your replies,

    To Bato, I also get error when I use command show all:

    Oracle8i>rman target sys/<syspass>

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.7.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: TEST (DBID=529557214)

    RMAN> show all;

    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "identifier": expecting one of: "allocate, alter
    , beginline, catalog, change, connect, create, crosscheck, configure, debug, del
    ete, drop, exit, endinline, host, {, library, list, mount, open, print, register
    , release, replace, report, renormalize, reset, resync, rman, rpct"
    RMAN-01008: the bad identifier was: show
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 1 file: standard input

    To Lestop, I get this error:

    RMAN> configure controlfile autobackup on;

    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "controlfile": expecting one of: "compatible"
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 11 file: standard input

    I think my database doesn't understand RMAN commands.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    It is very possible that the autobackups were only introduced in 9i, same could be true for the show all command.

    Lets go back to your original report schema question. I think I may have a way for you to get that working. Try this:

    $ ORACLE_SID=TEST;export ORACLE_SID
    $ rman target sys/<password> nocatalog

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.7.4.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: TEST (DBID=289923457)
    RMAN-06009: using target database controlfile instead of recovery catalog

    RMAN> report schema;

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: report
    Report of database schema
    File K-bytes Tablespace RB segs Name
    ---- ---------- -------------------- ------- -------------------
    1 102400 SYSTEM *** /oradata/CIDEV1/system01.dbf
    ....


    When I tried your command without specifing "nocatalog" I got the same error as you. Hopefully this will get that part working.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    47
    Thank you very much.
    I'm successful. I can now use command: report schema, but command: show all still get error. I think this command is just for V9i. I will go on trying other commands.
    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •