Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ny, ny
    Posts
    224

    Unanswered: changing background color in list

    I have a list that displays all the jobs that come in and the status of the jobs ie done, been worked on and so on.
    Is it possible to change the background color of the list based on the status. So if the job is done, I did like the row to be green and if its been worked on the entire row should be blue

    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Saudi Arabia / Philippines
    Posts
    126
    Yes! Read up on FormatConditions. Failing that you could always ask me for the "how to do it."
    Rod

    fe_rod@hotmail.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ny, ny
    Posts
    224
    could you post how to do it

    thank you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Saudi Arabia / Philippines
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by fullymooned
    could you post how to do it

    thank you
    Yes, but I'm a little too busy at the moment to work up an example. Give me a couple of days and I will post something. Nag me if I forget.
    Rod

    fe_rod@hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Hi fullymooned,

    I copied exactly what you are asking about from one of my databases I made. Check it out and see if you can figure out how it works. It's pretty easy.

    have a nice one,
    Bud
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Saudi Arabia / Philippines
    Posts
    126
    Good grief! I continue to learn. I never realised that conditional formatting was available as part of the Access Design GUI. I've always done it programmatically. Thanks Bud. I think this should more than satisfy fullymooned's needs.
    Rod

    fe_rod@hotmail.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ny, ny
    Posts
    224
    i guess the problem was i was actually using a list rather than a subform, but m not gonna try and make it into a sub form so that way i can use conditional formatting .. bcos i know in a list u cant do that

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    41
    I'll echo Rod's comment. I know Access pretty darn well, but this is a new one to me...

    Thanks Bud!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    601
    I thought about that but whatever i did cond formatting is greyed out...
    Ryan
    My Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ny, ny
    Posts
    224
    in the sample database that bud has provided
    can anyone tell me what the background color is .. wats the number value

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ny, ny
    Posts
    224
    i inserted a subform and tried to use conditional formatting
    but the formatting option in Format is not available

    is there something rong i m doing ??

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    6

    field coloring and Access97?

    Is it possible to have colored fields (status dependent of course) in Access97?

    _________________
    Adam

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1
    If you mean conditional format in Acce$$ 97, there is no such format....

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Saudi Arabia / Philippines
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by fullymooned
    i guess the problem was i was actually using a list rather than a subform, but m not gonna try and make it into a sub form so that way i can use conditional formatting .. bcos i know in a list u cant do that
    Format Conditions are available on Text Boxes and Combo Boxes only, but are available in all form and report situations.

    The properties that can be set via format conditions are BackColor, Enabled, FontBold, FontItalic, FontUnderline, and ForeColor

    However it should be added that the format condition does not apply to the pull-down list part of the combo box but only to the display of the selected value in the box itself.

    There is something at the back of my mind that I may have seen many years ago an article on how to format pull-down lists but as it is something I've never wanted to do I have not retained the reference. Has anyone else come across this?
    Rod

    fe_rod@hotmail.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by Rod
    Good grief! I continue to learn. I never realised that conditional formatting was available as part of the Access Design GUI. I've always done it programmatically. Thanks Bud. I think this should more than satisfy fullymooned's needs.
    Anytime Rod...glad to be of help. Whereas I don't know the proper way to find out the number equivalent of a color I do know of a way. In DesignView select a Control (text box or whatever ) and make it a color from the MenuBar above. Then, RightClick on that control, go to Properties, FormatTab and look down where it says "BackColor" and get the number that way. I'm certain there is a better way but I don't know of it.

    have a nice one,
    Bud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •