Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Buttons

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    361

    Unanswered: Using Buttons

    Is it possible to have a row of button's that when pressed can populate a text box on a form from a table. I need about 7 buttons.
    Example: the end result is the user chooses button 4 and a text box fills with data from a table. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    It is possible ... Almost anything is possible.
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    64
    Although it probably isn't the best method.. Check out the help file for "dlookup"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    361
    I thought about the dlookup up method but I just don't know how I could relate it to a option group. I guess my first post should have said, could someone help me design an option group that populates a text box by selecting differen data from a table. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by tjarvas
    I thought about the dlookup up method but I just don't know how I could relate it to a option group. I guess my first post should have said, could someone help me design an option group that populates a text box by selecting differen data from a table. Thanks.
    Select Case OptionGroup.Value
    Case 1
    TextBox1.Value=RetrieveDataBySomeMethod()
    Case 2
    ...
    Case N
    End Select

    Couple of things:

    -Don't know how you want to do it (ADO, DAO, DLookUp ...)
    -Don't know the type of data to retrieve
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    361
    I am trying to retrieve text in the form of a paragrapgh from a table. Once the text box is populated, I am going to merge it with a word document. So when the user picks option group button 4, the 4th column in the tablw will be selected. Maybe we should try to use dlookup since I don't know what ADO, DAO are.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •