Thread: Primary Keys

Red face Primary Keys

Hi All,

newbie here with a quick question.

I am designing a database for a game I am making and just noticed something with the tables I am creating.

I have a table holding all the weapons in the game with:
    - weapon_id
    - weapon_name
    - etc.....

now weapon_name is always going to be unique. Is there really a need for a weapon_id then when I could use the weapon_name as the primary key? Or is there some preformance thing involved with using an integer as the primary_key as opposed to a string?

Thanks

Uhmm since nobody else is replying I guess I will

From what I gather (I'm new to this too) there will theoretically be a difference in performance, however it will be so small that it will be unnoticeable in most cases, especially small tables like what I'm assuming you're doing. So sure, you can use weapon_name, but I guess for scalability's/speed's sake you could use a primary integer key.

The extremely Royal borough of Kensington, London
    One of the considerations is how often will the key be updated. By implementing a surrogate key, you can avoid cascading updates.
    Last edited by r123456; 07-22-04 at 04:36.
    Bessie Braddock: Winston, you are drunk!
    Churchill: And Madam, you are ugly. And tomorrow, I'll be sober, and you will still be ugly.

There are good reasons for using the id, and good reasons for avoiding it. You have to find which makes the best sense for this application.

Surrogate keys (SKs) are arbitrary. SKs are created for the use of the application, often by the database itself. The user shouldn't ever see or even know that the SK exists, so they should have no desire to change the value of the SK which would cause cascades. The SK should be near optimal in terms of size (typically very small and easy for the application to manipulate), so it should cause much less I/O and database growth when it is used as a Foreign Key (FK).