Question Unanswered: Btrieve ODBC Driver/Scheduling Exports

I'm looking for some suggestions on what might be the best way to accomplish what I'm describing below...I'm an ASP web developer looking for a way to regular push some database data to a web server for use in our online applications.

Currently I'm stuck with a commercial software product for our industry that uses Pervasive to write data to flat files mapped with a DDF. (Not ODBC compatible.) I'm looking for a way to regularly export this data to a format I can use on the web server (to a text file or SQL server for example.)

My experience with pervasive and btrieve is pretty limited, so I'm thinking the best way for me to go would be a commercial program that can run on 2k server as a service or desktop engine to perform regularly scheduled exports of our data to a file and then FTP to a server, or go directly into SQL server. I've seen some products that run on top of Crystal Reports to schedule reports, but this seems to be a round-about way of doing it since really all I need is the data itself in a ODBC format. Any suggestions?
    Last edited by probelaw; 07-26-04 at 13:00.

Provided Answers: 4
    First, what version of Btrieve/Pervasive are you using? Second, why aren't the DDFs ODBC compatible? Third, why hasn't the vendor of the software package fixed the DDFs?
    The thing with Btrieve is that only the application (or DDFs) know the record structure. If you can get an accurate record structure, accurate DDFs can be built an you can use ODBC directly. You could also write a program to export the data in to any format you want. It would need to use the Btrieve API, if the DDFs aren't correct.
    You could look at the Pervasive Data Integrator (http://www.pervasive.com/dataintegrator/). It might help but you'll still need to know the record structure.
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development