Unanswered: FileMaker on the Web

I've got a couple questions about a FM 6 database I'm trying to host on the web. I'm fairly technically savvy, but keep in mind that I am not a programmer when you respond.

I'm using the web companion to put a work order database online. I want people to be able to pull up the site and fill out the form, then submit it to the repro department.

The web template it comes up with has the submit, clear, back buttons, etc. Is there any way to change those? I'd like to add the ability to print a copy of their work order. I had buttons on the actual database, but they won't work when they are online.

Also, is there a way that when they click the submit button, it sends an email out to the people need notification? I've created a 'send mail' script, but I don't know how (or even if I can) attach the script to the submit link in the template.

I like the look of the web companion format and I'd rather not build a whole new page to get around it.

Any suggestions?

Andrea

Hi, Andrea! FileMaker Pro 4-6 had 2 main options for web publishing... Instant Web Publishing (IWP) and Custom Web Publishing (CWP). With IWP, there's not much customizing you can do... IWP does its best based on your layouts, but you're stuck w/what it gives you. CWP on the other hand, allows you to do a lot more, but it requires at least basic web skills. If you are familiar w/Dreamweaver, GoLive, or similar applications, you can add a little of the CWP code called CDML into your web pages to get what you want but programming experience would help.