Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    169

    Unanswered: SQL agent with NT account

    Hi,

    I am trying to get the sql agent account to log on with a domain account, but the error I am getting is:

    SQLServerAgent could not be started (reason: Unable to connect to server '(local)'; SQLServerAgent cannot start).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    149
    Ive had this error msg before if i try to insatll SQL Server using a domain account. For some reason the SQL Service will start up and run fine but SQL Agent does not. What I did was to install using a local admin account then once everything is looking cool then flip to a domain account.

    I think this was the way to go. Hope it helps...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    169
    nah sorry done all that, but the agent does start with the local admin account........

    err anyone?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    169
    actually, no it doesn't start with the local account

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Ensure the correct password was entered for local account used to start SQLAGent.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    169
    I just selected system account, there is no option to enter a password.

    But anyway I want it to work with the domain account I have set up for it so I can use sql mail.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    The account should have several required rights assigned to it, like "Logon as a service", "Logon as a batch", a couple of others, don't remember now, but check BOL.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    734
    Do you have the latest service pack on SQL Server and windows? Also, this isn't Windows 2003 by any chance is it?
    MeanOldDBA
    derrickleggett@hotmail.com
    When life gives you a lemon, fire the DBA.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    169
    sql service pack 3/3a, win 2000 service pack 4 with additional hotfixes.

    thnkas for your reply, i am thinking there is something missing is the registry, is this possible?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •