Unanswered: Return between Date

hi,
    i have a master and detail blocks in the detail block i have the date feild
    i execute the data with the max date by pressing a button after execute query on the master table to get the information in the detail.
    i need to be able to find data between dates but this if the user wanted
    i remeber once that i saw a form that when i write :x in the date field it opens another window that i can write in it date between ... and ....
    and then it retrives the data.
    i'm not sure if this was programmed or it is a feature in oracle developer .

can any one help me in this issue.

Thanks.

Provided Answers: 1
    It is a standard feature of Forms that if the user enters text beginning with a colon while in Enter Query mode, a window pops up where they can enter their own criteria.

I wouldn't rely on it for an end-user production application though, because:
    1) it assumes the users know SQL syntax well
    2) it opens up your database to the "SQL injection" issue. For example, suppose your block is based on table DEPT, items DEPTNO and DNAME. A knowledgable user could modify the query so that it actually selected from EMP and gets EMPNO and SAL for example, by typing something like this into the pop-up box:
    Code:
    1=0) union all (select rowid, empno, to_char(sal) from emp
    For that reason, on one project I worked on years ago we actually prevented the users from doing this by rejecting queries when the user entered a colon in any item! Of course, these days the data should be protected better in the server anyway, rather than relying on application screens to control access.

A more sophisticated way to provide different optional criteria is to have a control block where the user can specify optional values like "Earliest Start Date" and "Latest Start Date", and then use those to modify the default where clause.

Thank you so much for the reply,but can you tell how can i write the code.