Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    228

    Unanswered: Open form so it does not open maximized

    I have never really figured out how to have a form open so it is not maximized upon opening. I do not want the form to modal. How do I do this?

    This is the code that is opening my form:

    DoCmd.OpenForm "formManageDistributionList", acNormal, , "[DocumentID] = " & myDocId, , , Me.DocumentNumber
    Last edited by ottomatic; 08-03-04 at 14:03.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by ottomatic
    I have never really figured out how to have a form open so it is not maximized upon opening. I do not want the form to modal. How do I do this?

    This is the code that is opening my form:

    DoCmd.OpenForm "formManageDistributionList", acNormal, , "[DocumentID] = " & myDocId, , , Me.DocumentNumber
    Hi,

    I have a CommandButton that opens my forms for me and this is the code I use to open them just the way I designed them:

    Code:
     Dim stDocName As String
        Dim stLinkCriteria As String
    
        stDocName = "frmInventory"
        DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria
    Generally a form will open in whatever way you save it in DesignView, it should retain the same size the next time it opens.
    Also I have another form set to open with this code:

    Code:
       DoCmd.OpenForm "JobCharge",acNormal, , , acFormAdd
    That code also resides behind a CommandButton with no special settings on the actual form itself. If you still have problems, attach it on here and I will try to fix it for you.

    have a nice one,
    Bud

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    228
    I have tried everything and it is not working. I am not able to send you a copy of the database.

    Would it matter if the form is in continuous view? Would that make it open maximized every time? Right now I have to code a '.restore' in the on open event but that is visible to the user...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    228
    I set the pop-up property of the form to 'Yes' and that seems to fix my problem. It should have anything to do with it but oh well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    601
    to unable maximize just diable that button....Also are you designing in maximize? i found out that for me the size of that forms window in design view is the size of the form in normal view..
    Ryan
    My Blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by rguy84
    to unable maximize just diable that button....Also are you designing in maximize? i found out that for me the size of that forms window in design view is the size of the form in normal view..
    Hey rguy, exactly the point I tried to state above. There is no code I ever used to make a form stay the size I designed it. Only code to Maximize if need be. Did you check that out otto??? If it's not a real design heavy form try creating another from scratch and see what happens. Do ALL of your forms exhibit this behavior???

    Bud

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    601
    Quote Originally Posted by Bud
    Hey rguy, exactly the point I tried to state above. There is no code I ever used to make a form stay the size I designed it. Only code to Maximize if need be. Did you check that out otto??? If it's not a real design heavy form try creating another from scratch and see what happens. Do ALL of your forms exhibit this behavior???

    Bud
    I know that I sometimes design maximized, and when Iopen the form it os maximized. did i do what now? Yes all forms do the form size = window size not the boundery size.
    Ryan
    My Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •