Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New User

Unanswered: New User

Hi again,

I have sa rights or so I believe and I am trying to create a New user within the database itself and the message I am getting is:

MS SQL--DMO (ODBC SQLSTATE: 4200)
    Error 446: Cannot resolve collation conflict for equal to operation

What does this mean?

I have a feeling that the server admin didn't give me proper rights.

Thanks

Lystra

When do you get that? Through EM or QA?

My guess is that your database is set up with a different collation the the server default....

I'd be curious if you did this through code.....or EM
    Brett
    8-)

It's a Great Day for America everybody!

dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

It was through EM. I am a new DBA here, and the persons that set up the servers don't know anything about SQL Server and really don't care.

Did they do the sql sserver install?

Try this

Code:
    EXEC sp_addlogin @loginame = 'mylogin99', @passwd = 'mypassword99',@defdb = 'Northwind'

EXEC sp_addrole  @rolename = 'myrole99'

EXEC sp_adduser @loginame = 'mylogin99', @name_in_db = 'mylogin99', @grpname = 'myrole99'
    And let us know if that works...
    Brett
    8-)

dbForums Member List

It tells you there's a collation mismatch somewhere down the line. Do yourself a favor - If you can't determine when this happens, load up a profiler and watch while you click through Enterprose Manager. Notice the stored procedure on which the error happens. Use sp_helptext to see the code behind the said stored proc and you may find out the offending part of the object (db, table, or column) in an equation. It may be a collation problem there.

it's probably a join between system tables in master and the database he's working in...

That's why I want him to try the code I gave him in QA
    Brett
    8-)

dbForums Member List

I got this result

New login created.