Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: Is there another way on opening a form???

    I'm using MSAccess and i'm about to open another form so I used... docmd.openform "frmName"... I just want to know if there's another way to do this in access. Can u please give me another way of opening a form in MS access. Any help is highly appreciated!!! thanks in advance!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    40
    Why would you want another way to open a form? Is there a special reason for asking this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by laine
    I'm using MSAccess and i'm about to open another form so I used... docmd.openform "frmName"... I just want to know if there's another way to do this in access. Can u please give me another way of opening a form in MS access. Any help is highly appreciated!!! thanks in advance!!!
    OpenForm action in a macro

    Create a shotcut and put it on the Desktop. That will open your data base and then open the form

    Make .bat file that has the filename for the shortcut and run the bat file from a RunApp action in a macro

    Put the form name in Display for StartUp option

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    239

    Use macro

    Create a macro in acces that open the form you want. Then store the macro as "autoexec"
    Next time you open the database it will automatically open your form


    Sincerely
    Vestigo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,004
    Opening a form in Access. That depends on where you are in Access and what you are doing. To simply open a form without much work just create a CommandButton with the Wizards on to open the form of your choosing. THAT is the SIMPLEST way. Do you want a more Complex way to do a simple task? How about creating a Hyperlink in your database to open a form? How about creating an EventProcedure to open a form when the user does something in particular. Using a macro is ok, but why go with the old way, VBA in Access is kinda easy, besides it's been said someday in the future, Uncle Bill is going to rip out Macros anyway, so learn VBA while you can.
    I hope one of these suggestions has helped you out.

    have a nice day,
    Bud

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    369
    Using a macro is ok, but why go with the old way, VBA in Access is kinda easy, besides it's been said someday in the future, Uncle Bill is going to rip out Macros anyway, so learn VBA while you can.

    I will be back to boxes of cards

    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •