Question Unanswered: Which DB sould I use ?

Hi DB experts.
    I'm a newbie to the DB side of life so please be patient.
    I have an application that manipulates large amounts of data – till now it was all done in the cache, but recently the size of the data it too big and the use of a DB to accommodate the data is needed.
    I searched the web for simple and small DB and came out with two names: MySQL and postgreSQL (here is one comparison I used - http://det-dbalice.if.pw.edu.pl/det-...b_compare.html).
    I installed the postgreSQL and been playing with it through DBManager (http://www.dbtools.com.br/EN/dbmanager.php) in the last few days.
    The questions I have:
    1. My application is a stand alone application that the users install on their PC – I want the DB to be transparent to the user in the sense that it will be installed with the main application and the user will not be asked to install any other software. What the name of this option (I'm reading both manuals and not sure exactly what I'm looking for to describe this option)? Do you know if it is possible with MySQL or postgreSQL?
    2. I read that both (MySQL and postgreSQL) have a C or C++ libraries. I know that interfacing with DB is one of the dot net strong points – How can I take advantage on that feature? My existing code is written in C++ under the dot net environment. What will be easier / simpler / more efficient for a newbie: writing a C++/C# (is there a difference what language I choose?) dll to take care on all the DB ops? just using the existing libraries that MySQL and postgreSQL have?
    3 I know Oracle manages its own cache – do these DBs use some portion of memory as a cache for them selves?
    4 Is there another DB that can suit me better? Does these two have the features that are important to me?
    What I need:
    a. The ability to manage tables larger then the OS limits (2GB).
    b. Simple installation that is transparent to the user (question 1 above).