Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: DBI1281E The database manager configuration file could not be Initialized

    Hi There,

    having problems in creating V8.1 fp 6 instance on AIX 5L 64 bit. When i try to run the following command from root

    /usr/opt/db2_08_01/instance/db2icrt -a SERVER -p inst1svc -s ESE -u db2fenc1 inst1

    i get the following message in the log file under /tmp

    Program name = db2idbm
    Instance home dir = /home/inst1, Sysadm group = db2admin
    Instance type = 1, Auth type = SERVER

    SQL6048N A communication error occurred during START or STOP DATABASE MANAGER
    processing.
    Update DBM cfg SYSADM_GROUP errcode = 8
    DBI1281E The database manager configuration file could not be
    initialized.

    Explanation:

    An error occurred when attempting to initialize the database
    manager configuration file. A DB2 instance could not be created
    or migrated.

    User Response:

    Refer to the log file for problem determination. Resolve the
    problem and try the command again. If the problem persists,
    please contact IBM Support.

    DBI1079I Output is saved in the log file /tmp/db2icrt.log.23798.
    Explanation:

    All processed and failed operations have been saved into this log
    file.

    User Response:

    Do not modify this file in any way. This file is for IBM
    Technical Support reference.


    instance user inst1, fence user fenc1, admin grp db2admin are all created, /etc/services files is also updated with inst1svc 50000/tcp

    I have been wrestling with problem for past 2 days by trying many options no luck so far, your expertise to help on this would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    13
    Karthik ,

    Please try creating the Instance without specifying the " -s ESE " option

    Run this command

    /usr/opt/db2_08_01/instance/db2icrt -a SERVER -p inst1svc -u db2fenc1 inst1

    Hope this should work


    Regards

    Falcon

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3
    Falcon, thanks for your response,

    I tried without "-s ESE" option also tried just giving
    /usr/opt/db2_08_01/instance/db2icrt -d -a server -u db2fenc1 inst1

    it is giving me the same problem, with debug option i see it is failing at step
    updating dbm function. I did a extensive search on this i saw similar problem
    experienced by many people on different platforms, but i can't see a solution
    given to it though. Not sure how to proceed on this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    13
    Hi Kartik

    One more hint

    Please check the whether the group "db2admin" is the parent group of user "inst1"

    If not please add it and then retry the db2icrt command


    Hope this works

    Regards

    Falcon_down

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by shkarthik
    Falcon, thanks for your response,

    I tried without "-s ESE" option also tried just giving
    /usr/opt/db2_08_01/instance/db2icrt -d -a server -u db2fenc1 inst1

    it is giving me the same problem, with debug option i see it is failing at step
    updating dbm function. I did a extensive search on this i saw similar problem
    experienced by many people on different platforms, but i can't see a solution
    given to it though. Not sure how to proceed on this.
    Try the command without -a SERVER and after creation the instance try the change of dbm cfg , if it was necessary (default is SERVER).

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by M_RAS
    Try the command without -a SERVER and after creation the instance try the change of dbm cfg , if it was necessary (default is SERVER).

    thanks
    One question:
    Have you install db2 SERVER or CLIENT? if you do not install db2 server it make sence to get error.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3
    Folks, thanks for your responses, i got it installed finally, it looks like db2 will throw up this weird error for many reasons, for me it turned out to be a hostname resolution problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •