Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: SQL1403N then creating a DB

    Hello,

    I'm trying following under windows:
    db2cmd db2 "create database ABCDEF"

    under linux/unix I can directly call "db2" without the db2cmd, what is anoying under Windows :-(

    I'm logged in as an administrator but I get following error:
    SQL1403N The username and/or password supplied is incorrect. SQLSTATE=08004

    Now I have to questions:
    1. is it possible to create a DB in this way?
    2. if not, how could I create a shell-script or ANT-script to automate a creation of the DB?

    regards,
    Hans

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    nobody can help?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    First attach to the instance and then issue the command ...

    You have not mentioned your version, but at one point of time, in Version 8, this was a bug ...
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    how to attach to a instance if no database is available?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    My used version is UDB 7.2 Fixpack6 and Fixpack12 under Windows, Linux and Solaris.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    I have posted very similar question few weeks ago. But nobody give me the answer. I am still interested about this problem.

    Grofaty

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15

    create db

    hello,

    on windows instead of using db2cmd db2 create db db-name

    use

    c:\>db2cmd (press enter)
    you will be in DB2 CLP wndow.
    there give the command:

    create db abcd

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, USA
    Posts
    96
    I assume , you have two servers one is in WIN2K another is Solaris

    U install DB2 V7 fp 6 in both servers .


    where U try to create DB , getting error?

    also send you DBM cfg for where getting error , while create DB

    Thank You

    Lekharaju Ennam
    Lekharaju Ennam
    Certified Oracle8i & DB UDB DBA
    Florida A&M University

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    Hello vidyaraok,

    I cannot press enter, currently I use a skript to automate a DB creation.

    @famudba
    Under solaris and linux I do not need the db2cmd, I can run my script under my instance user and can use the command "db2" only. Under windows I need the environment which gets configured with db2cmd.

    best regards

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, USA
    Posts
    96
    send your DBM cfg where U try to create DB
    Lekharaju Ennam
    Certified Oracle8i & DB UDB DBA
    Florida A&M University

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    db2cmd /c db2 create database mydb

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    nobody here with such a problem?

    Could somebody please test it in his environment by executing this command in a cmd or via menu "Start\Run" as a computeradministrator, and not as the db2admin?
    Please try following as a usual computer administrator:
    db2cmd db2 create database anydb

    I cannot believe, that I'm the only one with this problem, if so it could be a installation problem.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9
    Hello,

    could someone be so kind and try it in his environment?
    It's very urgent for me now :-(

    best regads,
    Hans

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    186
    Have you created the instance first? Then create the database? Did you install the ESE version of the software for the database or did you install the client version?
    David Quigley

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    96
    No problem here creating a database when starting that command thru 'start -- run..'.

    DB20000I The CREATE DATABASE command completed successfully.

    Where do you want the db to be created, on your local Windows system?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •