Arrow Unanswered: Union Query To Compare 3 Inventories

I would like to create a query that compares 3 different inventory counts of our warehouse. I have created 3 separate tables and have put the serial numbers counted in each table. I would like to have 3 columns, each representing one tables data. The like serial numbers would line up across each column. If all 3 tables had the same serial, all 3 columns would have the serial number listed across the line. If only 2 tables had the same serial number, 2 columns would show the serial number and the third would be blank.

I believe this will have to be a union query but I do not know how to create a union query. As you can probably tell, I am a newbie. I have attached a 2002 database with some simple tables. Any help would be appreciated !!

Thanks,
    B&R
    Attached Files Attached Files

Probably not a union query...

A union query would combine the 3 fields (one from each table) into 1 field.

It sounds like you want to do somethng else.
    What is the purpose of the query, or what will you do with it?

Additional from my previous post:

If each table with also have an "inventory count" field associated with each serial number, then you have some options as to how to show the inventory for each item for each warehouse. Is this how it will work?

DavidMound

Thanks for replying. The tables will be for 3 different inventories of the same warehouse. There will not be any quantity fields just the serial number recorded. We want to compare the inventories to see the variances in the inventory counts. For example:

Inv 1 Inv 2 Inv 3

12345 12345 12345
    8790 8790
    77112 77112

This will show us which inventory has the discrepancy.

I hope this helps explain what I am looking for!

Thanks,
    B&R

I'm sure there are a few ways to do this, but I'll leave it to someone else.