Smile Unanswered: Sybase 12.0 Auto shutdown on W2K

Dear DBA,

I am new to Sybase on W2k, so please forgive me. Is there a script to shutdown databases automatically when the server goes down?

Thanks
    Santhakumar

The server is mounted as a NT service. A Windows shutdown will first stop the services. don't care about that... only avoid to switch off abruptely the mchine... but it's more for Windows than for ASE : ASE is really able to recover this type of bad stop.

Note that ASe execute a checkpoint (fetching each used pages on memory to the disk) during a normal shutdown... not during a Windows stop... some of your transaction should be rollbacked (but the data will keep consistant)
    F. Celaia
    DBA Sybase/DB2/Oracle/MS-SQL

Provided Answers: 4
    Quote Originally Posted by fadace
    The server is mounted as a NT service. A Windows shutdown will first stop the services. don't care about that... only avoid to switch off abruptely the mchine... but it's more for Windows than for ASE : ASE is really able to recover this type of bad stop.

Note that ASe execute a checkpoint (fetching each used pages on memory to the disk) during a normal shutdown... not during a Windows stop... some of your transaction should be rollbacked (but the data will keep consistant)
    Doesn't a Windows shutdown give problems with identitycolumns? I've found out that a shutdown-command to the ASE-server is a more proper way to shutdown than to just shutdown the machine.
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

Yes, it's true. Windows send an abrupt interruption (= shutdown with nowait) and not a simple shutdown (that apply the checkpoints) ==> to save the unicity of the identities, the ASE will skip a range of values (by default, 5000... it's a parameter of sp_configure). After the next restart, the identities are increasing by 5000
    F. Celaia
    DBA Sybase/DB2/Oracle/MS-SQL

Quote Originally Posted by fadace