Red face Unanswered: New to NotInList Event

I have read the forums and it sounds like I need to use the NotInList event. I am new to Access and I have been learning these codes as I go.

Could someone please talk me through how to make this process work. (i.e. what the code should be and where to enter it.)

I have an "Inventory" form.

I have a combo box that is linked to a "Unit Price" table for Item Description and Unit Price. When I pick an "Item" it automatically fills in the "Unit Price". Great! (I have a total of 4 of these combo boxes.) I would like the user to be able to edit or add to the "Unit Price" table without exiting the form by entering the required information into any of the Combo or Unit Price boxes.

Please help. I am lost.

I would put code like this for your item field:

Private Sub Item_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
    MsgBox "You Must select a value in the list!", 48, "Search Error"
    Response = acDataErrContinue 'don't display not in list message
    End Sub

I also somtimes ask if it should be added to the list. If so, I do an insert query and I would do item.requery so it is now in the list.

To anyone as clueless as me at Access:

Apparently there is a box called "On Not In List" under the Events tab in your properties for the selected Combo Box.

If you click the builder button next to this "On Not In List" box you can use the "Code Builder". This opens a box where you can put all that code garbage that everyone has been writing about.

I, out of dumb luck, stumbled apon it.

Once I found this handy little box. My form works like a charm! Thanks to everyone for their help.

Now, I have one more question.

When I enter an Item in my combo box, it enters the corresponding unit price in the unit price box for me. Is there a way for me to edit the unit price and updating the table without leaving the form?

Many thanks from the Access challenged.