Lightbulb Unanswered: Needs help in developing a database

I'm new to using ms access, so I really need your help guys. Not quite familiar yet about it at all, so be patient with me.

I am developing a database, which is supposed to take and store printable information regarding students and their academic records from a form. I originally used text boxes to input data in all fields. But later on converted the ones pertaining to classes into combo boxes to speed up the encoding process. The 3 up to 10 combo boxes I have in each semester shows all the classes that students have to take in their entire 4-year course from a single row source ("Classes" table). Now the challenge is how to make it possible for me and other users to see a list of all the classes that a student haven’t taken yet on a separate form or list box, without altering the single row source of the combo boxes I have mentioned above.

Can either post here or email me your replies. Any suggestion or guidance will be highly appreciated. Thanks!
    Last edited by st0ic0ne; 08-13-04 at 20:07.

Without knowing more about the structure of your database it is difficult to give a specific answer to this. I assume you have a table of all available classes, then you may also have a linking table to define which curriculum go with a student based on thier major? and you must have a table listing the stundent ID to the courses they have completed.

Your objective will be to create a query to list all the courses a student has. Then create another query which includes the courses table and the studentCourses query you previously created with a Join between AllCourses and StudentCourses on the course ID.
    You would limit the list by criteria of the student ID, and Courses where the courseID is Null.

You will need to add formulas to your query to refer to the specific StudentID on your form. Or run the query on the fly to have dynamic results based on the current studentID in your form.
    ~

Bill