Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Far away from heaven
    Posts
    194

    Unanswered: Can't modify or delete an existing job

    Folks, i have rebuilt my old server machine and i've restored the MSDB over the new machine. Now when i try to edit or delete any of the jobs that come from the RESTORE; i get the following error message:


    I never setup multiserver administration.
    However i can create and delete new jobs.
    How do i remove these older jobs.

    Howdy!
    Last edited by thebeginner; 08-20-04 at 12:21.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    This happened to me once, when a machine was renamed. I think it is as simple as updating the sysjobs table to reflect the new server name (originating_server column). Make sure you have a good backup, before you do this, however.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Far away from heaven
    Posts
    194
    sorry: the error message is:
    error 14274: Cannot add, update, or delete a job that originated from anMSX server.


    Thanx, MCrowley. I would try this when the users are off the machine.




    Howdy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,245
    My experience was the exact same as MCrowley's; I think I went in and hand-edited the jobs in the msdb database (through EM; it was a long time ago). You may need to set the switch to allow updating of system tables, but I don't recall that I had to do that.

    Regards,

    hmscott

    Quote Originally Posted by thebeginner
    sorry: the error message is:
    error 14274: Cannot add, update, or delete a job that originated from anMSX server.


    Thanx, MCrowley. I would try this when the users are off the machine.




    Howdy.
    Have you hugged your backup today?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Far away from heaven
    Posts
    194
    i am squared. thanx.

    USE MASTER
    GO
    sp_configure 'allow updates' ,1
    GO
    RECONFIGURE WITH OVERRIDE
    GO
    USE MSDB
    go
    update sysjobs set originating_server='myserver'
    GO
    USE MASTER
    GO
    sp_configure 'allow updates' ,0
    GO
    RECONFIGURE WITH OVERRIDE





    --HOWDY!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1
    Just had the same problem on a rebuilt server - the above script sorted it out.

    thanks,
    Paul.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •