Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448

    Unanswered: where is db2 connect enterprise edition

    correct me if I am wrong.

    db2 ee v8 contains db2 connect.
    db2 ee v8 fix pak 5 contains the db2 connect.
    No client contains db2 connect.
    Is administrative client contain db2 connect?

    regards,

    mujeeb

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    330
    Are you referring to the ODBC drivers that run on the client machine to connect to a DB2 server? If you have Personal Edition, it's included and can be configured via the Client Configuration Assistant.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    I need to install the db2 connect ee on solaris.so I want to know which cd should I mount.

    I am sure the db2 connect ee is on db2ee .is the client v8 contains the db2 connect?

    The other question that I have I am not seeing any fixpacks for db2 connect, do I need to apply client/admin or the server fix pak.

    regards,

    mujeeb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    You can use DB2 V8 ESE ... 5 user license for DB2 Connect is included in the ESE License fee ...

    There is only one fixpack, be it client or server, you will have to install the same set of fixes only ... The link to clients you see on the fixpak page is the full installation of the client with the fix applied ... So, download the FP tarfile and use the same tar file for ESE, PE , Connect, Clients etc ...

    HTH

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, USA
    Posts
    96
    i Think admin client have Db2 connect personal edition , may not EE
    Lekharaju Ennam
    Certified Oracle8i & DB UDB DBA
    Florida A&M University

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    Thanks for all the replies.

    Sathayam at the client link there are three clients admin, runtime and application. is there is some one specific to connect ee.

    regards,

    mujeeb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    just to confirm that

    my steps will be

    1. Installed the connect ee from the ese binaries.

    2. apply the fixpacks on top of that installation.

    regards,

    mujeeb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    you are right

    Cheers
    sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    Sathayam you are always very helpful. but you missed or I failed to understand which client fixpack(runtime,admin or apdc)

    regards,

    Mujeeb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    you will have to download the base fixpack (for server) and install ...

    the clients on the page are the basic client software+latest fixes applied on them , just to make life easier ... If you have lower level clients installed , you can download the server fixpack and install on them to upgrade to the latest fixlevel

    HTH

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •