Question Unanswered: Newbie has problem with slow retrieval of records

Hi,
    I have just started using mySQL (4.02) and have converted a Delphi program to use the libmySQL.dll. It is very slow to retrieve records.

I thought it was my programming so I carried out the following tests.
    1) In windows98SE I started a DOS box and typed mysqld to start a server.
    2) I started a client with mysql.
    3) The query "Select * from songs" took 34 seconds to 4071 rows.

with the same server session running I started mySQLcc and typed the same query. This time 4071 rows were returned in 0.22 seconds.

Obviously something is not set up correctly. The tests suggest the problem is outside my Delphi code.

As a newbie I have no idea where to proceed from here.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Ray

Hello,

I'm not sure, but I think that the difference in execution time between your two executions (within the same session) comes from the fact that once the query has been executed, it is buffered, making it very quick the second time you execute it. Since you only have 4000 records, taking 34 seconds suggerates that a full table scan is performed on the table (though that may not be the only problem). Do you have any index on your "songs" table ? If not, you should consider, for a "select*" query, to have a primary key constraint (and hence an index on that PK), so that the query engine can use this index to retrieve all rows efficiently. If you already have a PK, then the problem must come from somewhere else...

RBARAER

Thanks for the reply.

The table has a primary index on the first field (AlbumNumber).
    If after testing the query in a dos box and the mySQLcc I then retype the query in the dox box it still takes 34 seconds to get 4000 rows. There seems to be a difference between the client connection that mySQLcc is using and the Dos box. The dos prompt (and my program) always take 34 seconds to get the records while mySQLcc always takes 0.22 seconds.