Unanswered: Converting databases from 97 to 2000

I've created a lot of databases to track production work over the last 6 years. Although I am not an Access pro, I'm pretty good at what I taught myself, but am lacking alot of the technical "programming" knowledge. I currently have 97 and 2000 installed on my machine to test the conversion. When I try to convert most of my databases I get errors telling me it could not compile, and saves the database without compiling. My modules stop working. Does anyone have any ideas or do I have to re-write my modules?

I'm not sure if this affects your compiling issue, but I've noticed through this and other forums that one of the main issues with converting 97 to 2000 is the fact that 97 uses the DAO object model by default, while 2000 uses ADO by default.
    This means that if you don't explicitly declare your objects (written in 97 code) as DAO, 2000 will assume it's ADO and get confused.
    e.g. Dim rst as Recordset should be Dim rst as DAO.Recordset.
    You also need to set a reference to the DAO 3.6 Object Library in Tools/References in the VBA window.

Quote Originally Posted by bmacr
    I'm not sure if this affects your compiling issue, but I've noticed through this and other forums that one of the main issues with converting 97 to 2000 is the fact that 97 uses the DAO object model by default, while 2000 uses ADO by default.
    This means that if you don't explicitly declare your objects (written in 97 code) as DAO, 2000 will assume it's ADO and get confused.
    e.g. Dim rst as Recordset should be Dim rst as DAO.Recordset.
    You also need to set a reference to the DAO 3.6 Object Library in Tools/References in the VBA window.
    I have some questions on converting from 97 to 2000 also.
    I was under the impression you could change the default in 2000 back to DAO- is this true or not?
    What really is the difference between the two in how the program operates?