Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    42

    Unanswered: run a report in developer 10g

    Hi,
    i have a report that i created in report builder6i,and i call it from a form.
    but i need to run this report on developer 10g
    i changed the code from
    run_product('reportname');
    to
    DECLARE
    repid REPORT_OBJECT;
    v_rep VARCHAR2(100);
    rep_status varchar2(20);
    BEGIN
    repid := find_report_object('reportname');
    v_rep := RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(repid);
    end;

    but it is still not working
    is there any configurations need to be done

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    721
    As a matter of fact, reports made in 6i environment can't be run in 10g.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >reports made in 6i environment can't be run in 10g.
    It depends upon your deifinition of "made in 6i".
    I have forms & reports created using 6i C/S tools.
    Using the exact same "source" files, I compile them under 6i C/S, 9iAS R1 web, 9iAS R2 web, & 10g web and they all work identically.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    43
    Have you created and started a specific reports server on your Aplication server and/or development machine, if not you are likely to get an 'Unable to run report error'.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >but it is still not working
    Folks, isn't the phrase "not working" so wonderously ambigious?
    My DBMS_CLARVOYANCE call does not seem to be working today
    so I can't discern which of the almost infinite way s/w fails is this particular case
    >is there any configurations need to be done
    Only if you need and expect to actually produce a report.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    I have never seen a report that was made on an earlier version work without being upgraded to the newer version. I don't have Oracle 10i yet, but typically all I had to do was open the RDF in the new versions reports developer and it automatically upgraded the report to the newer version.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks for the reply
    but when i try to run the report i get invalid id and then another message saying that run_product_object cannot be null.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    What I am saying is, have you used the 10i report designer to upgrade the report RDF file to the newer version that you 10i runtime environment needs?
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    First, install a Report Server. How? Run CMD, go to (for example) c:\ora10g\bin and run

    > rwserver –install fik_repserv

    where "fik_repserv" represents the report server name. As a result of this command are two messages - "do you want to install report server as a NT service" (answer YES) and "go to control panel - services and start the service". So, go to the Services, find the one named "'Oracleora10gReports[fik_repserv]" and start it.

    Now, in Forms Builder, in Object Navigator, create a Report (you'll find it after all those Data Blocks, LOV's, blabla).
    Name - enter the name you want ... not necessarily the name of the report. For example, "fik_report".
    Filename - path to your report (for example, c:\rep\fikrep.rdf)
    Execution mode - batch
    Communication mode - synchronous
    Report destination type - file
    Report destination name - c:\rep\fikrep.pdf
    Report destination format - pdf
    Report server - fik_repserv

    If you run the report using the button, its WHEN-BUTTON-PRESSED trigger should look like this:
    Code:
    declare
    	repid report_object;
    	v_rep varchar2(100);
    	rep_status varchar2(20);
    begin
    	repid := find_report_object('fik_report');
    	v_rep := run_Report_object(repid);
    
            -- the code below is optional.	
    	rep_status := report_object_status (v_rep);
    	if rep_status = 'FINISHED' then
    		copy_report_object_output(v_rep, 'c:/rep/fik_rep_output.pdf');
    		host('c:/rep/fik_rep_output.pdf', no_screen);
    	else
    		message('There was an error during report execution');
    	end if;
    end;
    Optional code helps you to show the result of the report on the screen. If you omit it, you'll have your .pdf file in designed folder set in the report Property Palette.
    HOST command allows you to use "no_screen" or "no_prompt" parameters. None of them satisfies me ... DOS window stays on the screen and bothers me (and will bother my users, I guess). I'll have to figure out how to deal with it.
    Moreover, HOST command (as you can see) doesn't include any .EXE file (such as Internet Explorer or Acrobat Reader). You CAN include them but don't have to; however, you have to have the software that can open a .pdf file.
    Of course, you can use your imagination and try another destination formats, destination types etc. in all possible combinations. I'd really like to hear which one gives the best results.

    I hope this helps ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •