Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2

    Unanswered: Standby db in 8i

    I would like to create a standby database in 8i. I have read doc but have some confusion

    At primary stite
    I have taken backup of my production db and create standby control file.

    Now at standby host where should i copy these files
    1. Create a directory anywhere and copy backup datafile and control file there.
    or
    2. first create a database name standby and then overwrite its datafile with backup data files.
    or
    3. first create a database name standby and then delete all its files(datafile, redo, control files) and copy backup datafile and control file

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Amirkhan
    I would like to create a standby database in 8i. I have read doc but have some confusion

    At primary stite
    I have taken backup of my production db and create standby control file.

    Now at standby host where should i copy these files
    1. Create a directory anywhere and copy backup datafile and control file there.
    or
    2. first create a database name standby and then overwrite its datafile with backup data files.
    or
    3. first create a database name standby and then delete all its files(datafile, redo, control files) and copy backup datafile and control file

    Thanks
    Is this the document you read?
    http://tahiti.oracle.com/pls/tahiti/...n&word=standby
    Last edited by dbtoo2001; 09-08-04 at 12:34.
    "Take Control!
    Make The Choice!
    Accept The Consequences!
    Deal With The Results! "

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    2
    Dear all

    Thanks for your reply

    I am still unable to create standby db.
    My question is still there. do i need to first create a database on standby site and then replace it data and control file from backup files of primary database.
    OR
    I just create a directory on standby site and copy all backup files in it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    The following is the V9.2.0 manual but the steps are the same in 8i
    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...nc2.htm#459766
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    86
    You must:
    - create a DB in the Standby site (with a cold backup from the Primary DB).
    - mount (with Standby Control file created in the Primary DB) & open it in recovery mode in order to apply the arhived log files (from the Primary DB) automatically.
    Regards,
    Manf

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >You must:
    >- create a DB in the Standby site (with a cold backup from the Primary DB).
    Or not, I created my standby from a hotbackup
    How do you support a 24x7 uptime environment?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    86
    I forgot to include "preferable".
    Happy now?
    Regards,

    Manf

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1

    Smile

    must <> must ; when it is optional or preferable ;-)
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •