Red face Unanswered: Calculating Standard Deviation and Mean

I'm fairly new to Access and fumbling my around it. I'm an archaeologist and trying to analyze data from a large historic site that we recently completed work on. During our initial work at the site, we divided the area into a series of 25 ft x 25 ft grids. We counted the artifacts in each grid on the site (dividing them up into a series of different categories and subcategories).

In looking at the raw data, there appears to be significant variation depending upon who was doing the counting.

I originally set up four tables in Access with one table for glass artifacts, one for metal artifacts, one for ceramic artifacts and a fourth for misc. artifacts (shell, carbon rods from batteries, etc.).

I have already conducted a query to provide counts per grid square for total ceramics, total glass, total metal, total of misc. artifacts and total for the grid.

I would like to calculate the mean counts and standard deviation for these variables per person (for person 1, what was the mean number of ceramics in each grid square they examined).

I have a table set up with each row corresponding to a specific grid square, and columns for person, ceramictotal, glasstotal, metaltotal, othertotal and gridtotal.

I have been trying to figure out how to calculate the standard deviation and mean, but have been completely unable to figure out how to word the query to conduct these calculations.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jeff

Jeff,
    There are some built in aggregate functions available. They are best used in either a form of report.

For standard sample (unbiased n-1) deviation:

DStDev("[myDataColumn]","myTable",myCriteria)

For standard population (biased n) deviation

DStDevP("[myDataColumn]","myTable",myCriteria)

If you are not familiar with how to aggregate function then detail your table names and some criteria and we can talk you through it.

Chris