Unanswered: Newbie wanting to learn

Hi All,
    I am totally new to databases. I am starting from the absolute beginning. I want to learn MS-SQL and was wondering how/where to start. I need info on everything from installation and set-up on an Windows XP PC to programming in SQL. Is there a book or website that can guide me. I am fairly decent at programming and am able understand technical books. Installation and set up are my main concerns right now, since I believe that once I have a stable system to learn on, SQL should be easy.
    Thanks!

maybe I posted this in the wrong forum

Provided Answers: 54
    Nope, you picked a good place to post... Not such a swell time, since Saturday afternoons tend to be a wee bit slow around here!

Installing SQL Server on Windoze XP is simple. Insert the CD, accept the defaults, APPLY Service Pack 3a or LATER!, and you go merrily on your way. While there might be some defaults that you won't like much later in the process, you can change them down the road so don't get too excited.

As for books, I'd strongly suggest Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server 2000 in 21 Days. It is a really good book, especially for a beginner.

Oh yeah, I'd also bookmark this web site. It is a really good place to find help (at least on week days).

-PatP

Thanks for the tips! I'll check out the book. I've been playing around with MySQL. Are the two (MS-SQL and MySQL) similar?

It is very useful to examine, not only MS-SQL (aka Sybase) but also MySQL and Postgres. You are quite likely to encounter all three in typical, "PC-sized" office installations. You need to familiarize yourself with all three.