Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21

    Unanswered: Replication - Define Replicate

    Hi Guys,

    I have a Problem to define a replicate. I want to start a Informix Replication on only one Informix Server named iibm02. I have placed this server in the group group_1 and definded a Replicationserver. Now I want to replicate from one database (source@iibm02) on this server in a other one (target@iibm02). But it is not possible to use the same Server as Primary and Receive...what can I do?

    $ cdr define server -c group_1 -I group_1


    $ cdr list server
    SERVER ID STATE STATUS QUEUE CONNECTION
    CHANGED
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    group_1 3 Active Local 0



    $ cdr define replicate -I -S trans -C ignore -i repl1 " source@group_1:informix.source_t" "select * from test" " target@group_1:informix.target_t" "select * from target_t"

    --> command failed -- duplicate server or replicate (53)

    Thank you in advance.

    Marcus

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    30

    Triggers

    Marcus,

    You might consider using a trigger to perform the update on the second table.
    Benefit : immediate update in the same transaction.

    Try creating a second replication server for the same instance on another dbserveralias of that instance is you really want to use enterprise replication.

    best regards

    Koen

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    Dear Koen,

    now I have registered a entry for the Alias (iibm02_alias) in onconfig file and put a new entry for the aliasname in the sqplhosts file. I have created a new group too.

    group_1 group - - i=3
    group_2 group - - i=4
    iibm02 onsoctcp iibm02.inf.uni-jena.de inf_ids g=group_1
    iibm02_alias onsoctcp iibm02.inf.uni-jena.de inf_ids g=group_2

    Now I have to define a new Replication Server, but the following exceptio occurs:
    cdr define server -c group_2 -I group_2
    connect to group_2 failed *Error* <-761> is not a known Enterprise Replication error (-761)


    Can I use the same Port for the "two" Server in sqlhosts file?

    Good regards,
    Marcus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    30

    Ports need to be different

    No the ports need to be different.

    And you need to restart Informix to activate the dbserveraliases

    best regards
    Koen

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    Hi Koan,

    where can I delete replication server? I want delete a Server who has not started. So this server isn't listed in the Replication Server List (cdr list server).

    Best Regards,
    Marcus

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    21
    Hi Koan,

    I have found the command to delete the Repl.server but now I have another Problem:

    I have defined the SQPLHOST and ONCONFIG but then I want to define the Repl.server a problem occur. The system can't connect to group_1 but this group I have defined bevore and everything was ok...what happens? Here are the configurations:

    SQLHOSTS:
    group_1 group - - i=3
    group_2 group - - i=4
    iibm02 onsoctcp iibm02.inf.uni-jena.de inf_ids g=group_1
    iibm02_alias onsoctcp iibm02.inf.uni-jena.de 40050 g=group_2


    ONCONFIG:
    ...SERVERNUM 0 # Unique id corresponding to a OnLine instance
    DBSERVERNAME iibm02 # Name of default database server
    DBSERVERALIASES iibm02_alias # List of alternate dbservernames
    NETTYPE onsoctcp # Configure poll thread(s) for nettype ...

    -->I think this is ok, because I can connect to alias with dbaccess


    Failure:
    cdr define server -c group_1 -I group_1
    connect to group_1 failed *Error* <-25555> is not a known Enterprise Replication error (-25555)


    Thanks and best Regards,
    Marcus
    Last edited by VitaminB; 09-14-04 at 05:15.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •