Unanswered: Separation of log and data files

I'm kind of new to sql server (but experienced in Oracle) and I've got a couple of questions I wanted to bounce off you guys.

I'm implementing a SQL server cluster right now (2 node on Win2K3, shared EMC DASD for databases). We're at the very preliminary phase of this. I did an install and had my resource group set up with all of my disks on it. When prompted for the data file drive, I gave it one, but it put all the tlogs for the 'out of the box' database on that same drive as the data files (i.e. master, model, tempdb, etc.). The doc is a little vague in some of these areas (i.e. it says separate logs and data files on different disks, but then never actually tells you how to do that).

Now, I know how to specify the default paths for data and transaction logs for any NEW database I create and that's not a problem. However, my question is, how do I 'move' the tlogs from the databases created during the install? I've tried a detach, move tlog to separate physical drive and then reattach the db, but whenever I do this, SQL server wants to create a new tlog for the db on the same old drive as the datafile. I also can't delete the original tlog from a particular database even after I've created an additional tlog on another disk.

Any help is much appreciated. I'm more or less looking for the strategy any of you might take to set up this initial phase.

Don't.

Do you know WHY you want to separate the files?

What's your reason?
    Brett
    8-)

It's a Great Day for America everybody!

dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.