Unanswered: Getting a total in the table

Hi,
    I'm new to access and need some advice.
    I have a form with scores for a test,at the bottom of the form i need the total of all the different questions added up. I've done the unbound text box that pulls from the individual score boxes and the "=[q1]+[q2]" etcin the control source field, and it works, however i need to include the result on the table with all individual question scores. How can i do this.
    I'm sure your rolling your eyes, and its probably right in front of my face but......
    Any help would be much appretiated
    Brownie

Recording a total

From my understanding of your problem:

Question 1: Score ##
    Question 2: Score ##

You currently record the score in:

ScoreTotal: Q1+Q2

You now require that score total to be stored with the current recipient?

You probably have a table like
    testrecipientno, testno, q1
    testrecipientno, testno, q2

You could have a separate table (say 'results') that records scores such as:

recipientno, testno, totalscore

Once a user finishes the test: on the close form event add code like:
    docmd.runsql "Insert Into(...results - recipientno, testno, totalscorevalues ...)"

(You will need to check exact code requirements)

Hope that helps

Thanks gavinfm,
    My situation is i have a form patients fill out ( dementia in the elderly, it measures how far along they are) for every answer they get a score. The forms are hard copy and then data entered. i have it set up where the scores for the questions are put into a number field(named q1, q1, q3 etc. ), at the bottom of the form i have an unbound text box with =[q1]+[q2]+[q3] coded in. A "Total" box, it adds the questions fine but its not recorded in the coresponding table, how do i get the results into a column in the table. I'm sorry for the newbie question but there isn't a begginer forum.
    If you could help it would be great.
    Thanks
    Brownie