Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    28

    Unanswered: What for "dtproperties" table is?

    Hello Members

    Under Systen tables for every databases there is dtproperties table, what is the puprose of this table?

    Regards
    Praveen Kumar Pandey

    CoVisible Soultions (I) Pvt. Ltd. - Offshore Outsourcing Service Provider

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    492
    It's used to store the database diagrams, my guess is that sql creates this table by default as if it is a sytemtable (which it isn't, well... sort of anyway).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    True and no harm in keeping this table, it is a referenced system table but working as user table for diagrams.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    dtproperties is actually built by SQL-DMO, which is used by SQL Enterprise Mangler to do virtually all of its tricks. The net result is that it is effectively a system table, even though it isn't used by the SQL engine itself.

    -PatP

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Really....so if you drop the table....
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    I think I tried once, and was not allowed. Besides. The next time somebody opens Enterprise manager on the database, Microsoft runs in and rebuilds the blasted thing anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    492
    I just had to try this one:

    drop table dtproperties runs fine from QA. I started EM on the DB but the table didn't show up.. so I stopped & started the server and voila, a dtproperties table. Funny thing though: went for a second try to confirm: alas, no dtproperties table.

    Anyone aware of some sort of an AI in SQLServer?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    492
    found it.. some much for AI; the table got back once I hit the Diagrams item from EM. I did read somewhere that dtproperties is hardcoded into EM that it shows as a systems-table. Guess thats ms AI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •