Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Western part of Georgia, USA
    Posts
    123

    Question Unanswered: Move job to different server

    Thanks in advance!

    I have several jobs (most scripted in activeX) that I need to move to a different server. Is there an easy way to "copy and paste" them from one server to the other? (SQL7 to SQL2k)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    191
    Not to copy and paste, however you can create a DTS package to transfer the jobs to another server.

    Go to Enterprise manager
    Data Transformation Services
    Local Package
    Local Package
    New Package
    Under the Task choose 15 - Transfer jobs tasks.

    And that should do it.

    Lystra

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Or you can script the job, modify the script and run it on the new server with osql, or from QA
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    18
    If you right click on the job in question, select All tasks and select "Script Job" (in SQL7) or "Generate SQL Script" (in SQL2k) you can create an SQL script which can be run on the new server via Query analyser. If you want all the jobs to be transferred then right click on jobs and do the same.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    191
    Brett, how do you script a job. Can you please explain.

    Thanks

    Lystra

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by ajw
    If you right click on the job in question, select All tasks and select "Script Job" (in SQL7) or "Generate SQL Script" (in SQL2k) you can create an SQL script which can be run on the new server via Query analyser. If you want all the jobs to be transferred then right click on jobs and do the same.

    Is that good enough?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    I've never tried it from 7.0 to SQL-2000, but can't you just use the File | Save-As menu item?

    -PatP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan
    I've never tried it from 7.0 to SQL-2000, but can't you just use the File | Save-As menu item?

    -PatP

    ?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ?????????????????????
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Western part of Georgia, USA
    Posts
    123
    I created the activeX in note pad first. Then I choose New Job >> Steps >> New>> selected ActiveX and copied and pasted the script. Most of the jobs have more than one step that is why I was hoping to "Copy and Paste" the entire jobs. I have a total of 24 to move to a different server.
    Again thanks for the help,
    Lee

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •