Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Can A Query Be Created That Allows the User to Select the Table?

I have a datbase with a master equipment list and a table for expenditures for each year from 1999 to present. I need a query that will allow the user to search by equipment serial number and allow the user to select which table (year) will be searched.

Thanks.

This forum has been a fantastic help to me from day 1.

Yes but i think is possible only by code :

Querystring="select * from " & NomTable
    Docmd.runsql Querystring

This would be in the SQL view?

The code doesn't make much sense to me (very rusty on my SQL).

If that is the beginning of the sequel statement, how would I write the select part of the query? Would it be:
    Select *
    From Querystring

Thanks for the help.

No, you would write that type of code and place it on a form behind a button or something. then the user would choose the table from a combo box and asjk for the results by pushing a button.

Thumbs up

Thanks. I'll have to take a look and see how to do that. I appreciate the help from all.

I've tried putting the code (listed in previous response) behind a button and then was asked for a Macro to run. I don't have any macros set up.

Just looking for a way for the user to select which table they want the query to run in.

Thanks.

Post the code you used.

Quote Originally Posted by TerpInMD
    Post the code you used.

Here is the code. I'm new at writing code so any help would be appreciated.

Querystring="select * from " & NomTable
    Docmd.runsql Querystring

Sorry, Jepi was incorrect with sending you down the docmd.runsql path (that is for action queries like insert or append only).

You have to create the SQL via code then create a tempquery:

Dim dbs as dao.database
    dim qdf as dao.querydef
    dim txtSQL as string
    Dim txtQueryName as string

txtQueryName = "SomeNameHere"

txtSQL = "SELECT & from " & me.YourControlWithTableValue & ";"